About IES

IES Mission Statement
The IES seeks to improve the lighted environment by bringing together those with lighting knowledge and by translating that knowledge into actions that benefit the public.
IES Vision Statement
The IES will build upon a century of excellence to create the premier lighting community dedicated to promoting the art and science of quality lighting to its members, allied professional organizations, and the public.

Established in 1906, the IES is the recognized technical and educational authority on illumination. For over one hundred years its objective has been to communicate information on all aspects of good lighting practice to its members, to the lighting community, and to consumers through a variety of programs, publications, and services. The strength of the IES is its diversified membership: engineers, architects, designers, educators, students, contractors, distributors, utility personnel, manufacturers, and scientists, all contributing to the mission of the Society: to improve the lighted environment by bringing together those with lighting knowledge and by translating that knowledge into actions that benefit the public.The IES is a forum for the exchange of ideas and information and a vehicle for its members’ professional development and recognition. Through its technical committees, with hundreds of qualified members from the lighting and user communities, the IES correlates research, investigations, and discussions to guide lighting experts and laypersons via research-and consensus-based lighting recommendations.

As the IES’s first section, the Boston Section has a rich history with a distinguished membership, including several society past presidents. We benefit from the diversity of many colleges & universities, industry manufacturers, equipment representatives & distributors, and a large design community. Like most IES Sections, our main focus is to host regular monthly meetings with the intent to share knowledge related to the practice of lighting as well as connect with area professionals. Our members are made up of architects, engineers, lighting designers, manufacturers, manufacturers representatives, and distributors all bringing a different perspective to our section.

Our monthly presentations touch on the many facets of lighting, design practice, and its impact on the built environment, including technology, application, quality, environmental impact, and human health. We regularly organize a golf outing as a fund raiser for student scholarships in lighting education and we recognize the regions best lighting designs at our annual Illumination Awards (formally IIDA) banquet at the end of the year. We are also fortunate to be situated near several other vibrant IES sections offering great programs and you can browse these sections by visiting the IES National Website.

You do not need to be an IES member to attend these meetings but there are many benefits to membership. Visit our membership page if you wish to learn more about membership or would like to become a member. We welcome your input regarding meeting topics, feedback on past meetings or wish to become more actively involved with the New England Section. Please feel free to contact the section president or any of the officers.

Board of Managers 2022-2023

Coffield King
Vice President
Sara Schonour
Past President
Alexandra Gadawski
HMFH Architects
Ben Wilson
Available Light
Benjamin Koyle
RAB Lighting
Board Manager
Chin Lin
Compass Project Management, Inc. 
Board Manager
Edward Barholomew
Ed Bartholomew Lighting
Board Manager
Brett Dahlgard
Boston Light Source
Board Manager
Harry Schofield
Exposure Lighting 
Board Manager
Sean Reese
Board Manager
Robyn Goldstein
HLB Lighting
Board Manager
Jennifer Bean
Sladen Feinstein Integrated Lighting
Board Manager
Victoria Bonney
Board Manager
Stefano Amabile
HLB Lighting
Board Manager
Rick Paradis
Board Manager
Ira Rothman
Apex Lighting Solutions
Board Manager
Clyde Robinson
Board Manager
Mia Jean-Sicard

Past Presidents

  • Alexandra Gadawski (2020-22)
  • Ira Rothman (2017-2020)
  • Kristen McKenna-Beale (2015-2016)
  • Carlos Alonso-Niemeyer (2014-2015)
  • Clyde Robinson (2012-2014)
  • Samantha Russem (2011-2012)
  • Rick Paradis, Enernoc (2008-2010)
  • Nick Farzaca, ARCE (2006-2008)
  • Doreen LeMay Madden, Lux Light (2004-2006)
  • Cindy Vera, Lite Touch (2002-2003)
  • Kathy Abernathy, Abernathy Lighting (2000-2001)
  • Paula Ziegenbein, Osram Sylvania (1998-1999)
  • Bob Figuerido (1996-1997)
  • John Gallien, Sylvania (1994-1995)
  • Frank Lilly (1992-1993)
  • Chuck Clutz (1990-1991)
  • John Kroll (1988-1989)
  • Mike Fontaine (1986-1987)
  • Aurele Maillet (1984-1985)
  • Bob DeSantis (1983-1984)
  • John Pasque and Roy Crane (1982-1983)
  • Anne V. Robinson, Robinson Roth (1980-1981)
  • David Jackson, United Engineers (1978-1979)
  • Tom Lemons, TLA – Lighting Consultants, Inc. (1976-1977)
  • Bill Whitmore, GE Company (1974-1975)
  • John W. Donnelly, Boston Edison (1972-1973)
  • George Krasco, Smithcraft (1970-1971)
  • Richard Cressey (1968-1969)
  • Robert A. McCully, Champion (1966-1967)
  • J. J. Fianagan (1965-1966)
  • J. R. Comell Jr., Mass Electric (1964-1965)
  • Jack A. McKracken (1963-1964)
  • J. E. Carr (1962-1963)
  • L. A. Bean (1961-1962)
  • Richard E. Smith (1960-1961)
  • E.O. Kassman (1959-1960)
  • Walter L. Bail (1958-1959)
  • Carleton M. Holden (1957-1958)
  • William B. Elmer (1956-1957)
  • E. J. Perkins (1955-1956)
  • H. A. Klopot (1954-1955)
  • L. S. Cooke, GE Company (1953-1954)
  • F. J. Vorlander Jr., Champion (1952-1953)
  • John W. Young, New England Power Service (1951-1952)
  • Willard Allphin, Sylvania (1949-1950)
  • Raymond Smart, Boston Edison (1947-1948)
  • C.M. Snyder, GE Company (1946-1947)
  • Elier H. Raddin, Champion (1944-1945)
  • Rene G. Maurette, Sylvania (1942-1943)